Art 3 – Close-ups and artistic discipline – Due 4/9

Standard

You next project is a close up of a hand, foot,  or natural object placed within a well composed context.

Below are 2 sites with tutorials on drawing hands and one example or illustraion of a stippled hand in compositional context.

Hand tutorials

More hand drawing advice

Which method is most helpful to you and why does it seem like the best approach? Do you think you will try it?

Search for some other examples on the internet for support to your project and post links if you find anything of interest.

Next is an interesting commentary by Guggi about art and discipline.

Comment on what your artistic discipline is. What routines and methods do you use to get your best work?

What contributes to your concentration, focus, and productivity?

What distracts you and how can you minimize, avoid, or eliminate these distractions?

4 responses »

  1. I find both hand drawing tutorials to be useful. The benefits of the first one are that a) the process is simpler and b) the explanation is more concise. The second tutorial, however, is also helpful because it mentions things that the first one does not, such as the fact that the wrist does not touch the surface when the hand is lying flat on a table (though this can also be noticed by simply observing). I tend to produce my best artwork when I am sitting in a quiet area and listening to a book on tape. In addition, I like to work on my art when I have a substantial chunk of free time. It takes me a little while to transition and become fully absorbed in my work, so I like to set aside a portion of a day or a full day for creating art.

    • I also need a chunk of time to transition and get into the zone to create. But on those days when I don’t have that to invest, I try to make little drawings….only to find myself drawn into a bigger amount of time than I planned. I think of Braque who said life is short, art long…but now I find out Hippocrates said it first! But what a beautiful endeavor both are!

  2. We like the method of dividing hand into three parts: the palm, the four fingers and the thumb. Because its easy to apply and it produces anatomically correct hand. We will try it.
    Yimei: My artistic discipline is, I go from overall to details.
    Sedem is the opposite, she goes from details to overall.
    Music I listen to while doing art work and passion for art/project. (Yimei likes talking while drawing because that helps)
    Sedem: I get distracted by looking at other people’s work.
    Yimei: Nothing distracts me except when I have tons of homework or other projects going on at the same time.

    • It would be interesting to see if your writing processes are the same….starting witht the details and drawing conclusions….or drawing conclusions and finding the details for support. In a manner of speakingm I think you might represent the differences between the deductive and inductive thought processes in your approach to drawing.

Leave a Reply

