Art 2+3 – Due 10/24 – Open Studios inspired

Standard

Round robin discussion:

Post a relevant link to your next project.  It may be the link to the artist’s website, or it may be a link to another artist that is similar to the Open Studio artist, or it may be a link to a video about a particular technique or use of the media, or it may be a link to something that is inspiring your subject matter or issue (political or social commentary or….)  Explain why you feel this link is important or necessary and ask a question about it.

Answer the immediately preceding question after you look at the previous link and then

Post a relevant link to your next project.  It may be the link to the artist’s website, or it may be a link to another artist that is similar to the Open Studio artist, or it may be a link to a video about a particular technique or use of the media, or it may be a link to something that is inspiring your subject matter or issue (political or social commentary or….)  Explain why you feel this link is important or necessary and ask a question about it.

Make sure you check that your links work after you publish it!

The first person to comment can comment on the last person’s comment when it is finally posted for extra credit.

11 responses »

  1. http://canvoo.com/artists/burt-levitsky
    http://canvoo.com/art/19546/773055

    I’d really like to work with the same subject matter as Burt Levitsky. The works I saw from him at open studios were generally cityscapes. I’d really like to use pastels as a medium., though. The second link is similar to my favorite of his paintings. I really love the life and energy that he captures in very still, serene paintings.

    If I were to use pastels, does anyone have any suggestions as to how I should control the colors from blending together?

    • Just make sure they aren’t touched. You could try lifting your hand so it doesn’t touch the paper while you’re drawing so you don’t smudge, or you could put something like a binder or a piece of paper (as long as you put it down/lift it up completely vertically it won’t smudge) over the part you aren’t working on while you shade in something.

  2. My favorite artist was Lucy Martin. In the calendar, she had a piece which made me think of alien plants, which would be amazingly fun to do but are probably not realistic enough for the assignment. She also had some mushroom paintings which you can see here:
    http://www.lucymartinart.com/Album_Mushrooms/mushroom.html
    So I was thinking I could do a painting of a mushroom of some sort. However, I don’t know if I should do watercolor because on one hand it’s more accessible, but one the other hand I’m way better at acrylic and watercolor is almost impossible to work with, at least for me. What do you guys think?

    • http://www.theresinartist.com
      I think that using surf board resin is make sculptures is extremely unique and creative. Vince expresses his passion for surfing in each sculpture he makes and I feel the same passion when I look at it myself. I was thinking of using acrylic paint to show the vibrant colors from these sculptures but I am wonder how I can make the painting look more realistic because I don’t think acrylic will be enough to bring out those colors?

  3. https://www.google.com/search?q=Choix+des+Plus+Belles+Fleurs&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=CCRoUvDoDYWUiQLy4ICYAw&ved=0CAkQ_AUoAQ&biw=1680&bih=925

    http://www.stephaniemartinfineart.com

    The first link is Choix des Plus Belles Fleurs’s paintings of plants, they show plenty details on plants’ structures and shapes. So I was thinking I could do a watercolor painting of fairies and a plant (haven’t decided which plant to do yet, any suggestions?). The second link is the artist I got my inspiration from, I loved her muted tone and soft lines. Since the plant is going to be a realistic figure while the fairy may not be very realistic, does anyone have any suggestions on how to paint these two things in a same painting without making the painting look weird?

  4. I’m better at acrylic paint as well.And i think to show the variety of the colors is using the complement of the colors, like you can connect blue and orange together and so on. And maybe having the light and dark part of one color will help as well.
    For me, I really like Heejin Lee’s art. In her art, she doesn’t actually draw any realistic objects, her style is more abstract. And I would like to do painting by using various colors in the painting.But i don’t know if using both watercolor and acrylic paint would work?
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/heejinart/page1/

  5. from klimt:

    I definitely think you can create a work using a combination of water
    color and acrylic. Water color is much more delicate than acrylic but
    I think that’s what would make their combination interesting. New
    depth and emotional impact can be explored. I particularly liked Lee’s
    09.spring.048.

    From my Open Studios visits, the artist’s work that I most identified
    with and was inspired by was David Flemings. He uses composites of
    different photographs to create his pieces. Some are pictures that he
    took himself. There was a painting he did called Ribbons of Red
    Receding Down Corridors of Steel that I really loved. I admire how
    his paintings convey a lot of emotion and action without looking to
    detailed or realistic. I tend to like realistic art but his cross
    between abstraction and realism is very interesting. I would like to
    create something that plays along those lines.
    http://members.cruzio.com/~fleming/: this is his website but it
    doesn’t seem like he made it possible to actually view his art.

    Can it still be considered art if the piece is a composite of other
    people’s images?

    • I would say yes, it can still be considered art. By using other people’s images to form a composite image, you are taking a series of compositions and creating an entirely new composition. In other words, you are taking the work of various artists and presenting a new and different interpretation of those images (which I would say is art).

Leave a Reply

