Art 2 – Scratchboard – Due 10/14

Standard

Before you start working on your project, preview the Russ McMullins scratchboard tutorial.

index.html

and the video tutorial by Lars Erik Robinson

video_4986145_draw-scratch-board.html

view google images for scratchboard

search?q=scratchboard&hl=en&client=safari&rls=en&prmd=imvnsa&tbm=isch&tbo=u&source=univ&sa=X&ei=wpFzUNeQL6P3igKR4IGYDg&ved=0CDEQsAQ&biw=1096&bih=693
This artist is also an excellent reference:

?p=58

Comment on 3 important pieces of advice from the tutorials and explain why you think they are important.

Link to the image you admire the most and explain why.

Explain what you will try to do in your choice of subject, composition, and technical approach.

8 responses »

  1. I think the idea of drawing normally on the scratch board, then scratching on the other side to make a dark line was useful, and so was the reverse-shadowing. The option of adding color is intriguing, but intimidating, since it would be so easy to mess up. My favorite image this rhinoceros, partially because it looks like a photo, and partially because I like rhinoceri :
    http://bidding.biggame.org/Disappearing-Rhino-Original-scratchboard-drawing-by-Sally-Maxwell_i14690577

    • I think color can add interest as in the clown fish piece outside our classroom but usually it is superfluous since the black and white relationships can be made so dynamic with different amounts of scraping and texture.

  2. The tutorial was very helpful in explaining how to use gradation to make the image more realistic. Having a wide variety of grays along with some blacks and whites really help show dimension and detail in the artwork. One thing that surprised me is that unlike line drawings where you use shading to fill in the shadows, the scratch boards are the exact opposite. You shade in the lighter parts of your image and leave the shadows lighter.Just like the negatives that I develop in photo. The video really made me think differently about what I will do with my scratch board and it showed me some great techniques to bring out the detail in my artwork.

  3. I found that the “tutorial” video was pretty useful. It suggests that if you know the area that is going to be really dark there, you can put the black or white ink by brushing it on. What’s more, you can also create the shadow effect by doing the cross hatching on the board. And if you want create a darker shadow or show the reality more, you can “go back into it and paint in again”.
    And my favorite is the one called “Sunset Eyes”. the artist create an eye in the center of the scratchboard and he/she scratches half sun behind the eye and also there is cloud around. In addition, between the space of each two upper eyelashes, he/she put in one eye, which is really interesting. What’s more, i’m really fond of the shape of the lower eyelashes, they are like the trees. I think this art builds a connection between the human body and the nature. And also the cross hatching technique he/she uses really represents the reality of the objects.
    http://mandarinmoon.deviantart.com/art/ACEO-Scratchboard-Sunset-Eye-102511194
    For my work, I think i gonna do a sea shell and use different hatching technique to show its reality.

  4. I’m entering my open studios post as a comment because I am pathetic at computers and don’t know how to make a blog post of my own. Anyway, I saw Kirk McNeill, who is a blacksmith. He had a lot of ocean-inpired pieces, like sharks, kelp or schools of fish. Susan Wagner made stained glass, and glass Japanese fans. Lila Klapman did sculpture, and had a lot of brass dancers and a few mermaids as well. I admired how she could get the metal to form such realistic-looking faces, and how she got the mermaids’ tails to balance without snapping off their base.

  5. I thought that the use of black lines, etching out the rest of it and kind of balancing out the colors was an interesting tip, and the way that the artists worked on their pieces with various tools and techniques helped me out a lot in learning how to use scratch board. I thought that using the tip of the x-acto knife to make grain like textures and straight lines helped me a lot in making my piece.

Leave a Reply

