Art 1 – Due 6/3

Standard

All year, you have been viewing sites about visual art and artists in order to support your understanding of art as a visual language  and your work as an artist in the classroom.

For your post this week,  think about what you have learned about art from these sites and what you want to learn about art. Spend some time browsing for a site about a visual artist or visual art style (…..not just a random pinterest  or tumbler site.  But you may, however, let that art that you like on one of those sites, lead you to a specific, individual site of one of those artists).

Post a link to the site and explain why you like the work visually what interests you intellectually about the artist and/or art style.

Explain how you will be inspired by the site and use that inspiration in your own work.

Spend an hour drawing in your sketchbook as preparation for your final painting inspired by this artist/style.

32 responses »

  1. http://academart.com/suvorova.htm
    though I couldn’t find a website specifically about Olga Suvorova’s works I did find one that has a page about her and her artwork. I love her works because they are both surreal and realistic at the same time. Her use of color is amazing, if occasionally to bussy and bright. I like all of the scenes she paints because most of them are of court life, which i find interesting. The dresses on some of the figures look as though they have been collaged, though I believe that she just uses real thick layering.

    • for my sketchbook i will most likely draw a sketch of three figures in old dress and possibly incorporate a vase of flowers and a dove

  2. http://www.blog.designsquish.com/index.php?/site/C64/
    I found this blog about design and I really enjoyed their pictures of botanical art. They are so simple yet so detailed and just really visually pleasing to me.I especially like the old fashioned drawings because they almost look like photographs. For my sketchbook I will try to draw something in nature using the same attention to detail. Maybe a picture of the ocean.

  3. http://www.bdowns.com/
    This site is about an artist named Barbara Downs, who paints and uses encaustic.

    I love her style, and how the simplistic images carry deep meaning and undertones.

    There is a recurring motif of birds, sometimes dead ones. And the slightly distorted images are all the more poignant because of the simplified depiction.

    For my sketchbook, I will do a drawing based off her Daily Bird collection.

  4. http://kellibickman.net/

    This is the website of artist Kelli Bickman. According to her biography “[She] is a multi-media artist. She grew up on a farm in Minnesota, studied art in Wisconsin and London and moved to the West Village of New York City in 1995. After 14 years in the big apple she packed up her paintings and moved to the Catskills with her daughter, Isabella Grace. She still travels (on a smaller scale) and continues to live her dreams.”

    I really enjoy her style as it is simple and colorful and pleasing to the eye. Her style is not an attempt to paint something realistically, as that is not important to her. Insted she concentrates on making something that looks good, rather than worrying about color scheemes or realisum. Her art is generally simple but they are good. I think art is like food in this way, the simplest dishes (and art peaces) are always the best.

    For my sketchbook I will draw a reses peanut butter cup on a plate suspended in mid air with rainbows and rays of ethereal light emanating from it. Then in the background I will draw a blue sky with puffy clouds and majestic turtles flying about and a green hill with magnificent land jellyfish and and sentient armchairs walking around…Because why not.

    • Thank you for your kind words, Frodude. Very much appreciated! I like your creative vision…why not indeed. (I found this as a search thru my visitor stats on my website, in case you were wondering).

  5. http://www.warhol.org/andy_work.aspx?id=685

    Warhol’s genius is not in his technical skill. Many of his paintings are downright simplistic. What I admire about Warhol is how he critiques the art world while simultaneously being an integral part of it. A sense of self awareness and irony permeates his pieces even as they are visually appealing and thought provoking. By presenting mass-produced silkscreens as valuable art pieces he forces the question: “what is art?” Warhol famously answered this question when he said “art is what you can get away with.”

    I like the way he uses color schemes. I’ll try to emulate that.

  6. http://www.mattleblancart.com/en/

    I found a website through google that listed a bunch of artists with cool websites. After browsing a bunch of them, I found Matt Leblanc’s website and I really enjoyed all the artwork that was shown. However, I found the layout and color choices of his website to be very bland and boring. In the gallery that is a bunch of painting that I liked. He is a modern abstract artist. Some of his painting were very recent, even as new as 2012. I liked most of them, but they seemed a little monotonous. A lot of the pieces were similar and were paintings of the horizon. It seemed comparable to a messy painting done by a child who is trying to paint something exactly as it is. Also, the colors seemed a little forced and didn’t blend well together. Some of the paintings seemed to just have different parts and layers to them instead of being one uniform piece.

    • It may be that your abstractions have a lot more pizzaz to the color. It sounds like the color was a letdown for you in appreciating his work. I am amazed by his marketing – selling 2000 paintings in 5 years, amounts to 400 a year! I wonder how many of those paintings were made in those 5 years….is he making more than 1 a day as well? And, the “branding” aspect: putting it on footstools and dresses. It definitely is a different way of working and you can see how it grew out of his advertising experience.

  7. http://www.bea-art.de/

    I found this site through another site which features artists from all over the world. To those inconvenienced by the page being in German, I apologize, but there was no option for a translated site. The site features paintings by Beate Leinmuller. I liked the texture that she used on all of her pieces; the colors transition well and everything looks very smooth. I also liked how she used shape and color to define areas rather than contour lines.

    I plan to try to emulate the texture she used in her works in my next piece, which will likely be either a landscape or a floral in keeping with the idea of an “inspired work”.

  8. http://www.artspan.com

    I was looking and at first couldn’t find anything that I really liked. And then I found this website. At first I didn’t really like it but then I started looking through all the art. The art is different but has a lot of emotion. The colors and textures at to the emotion. The artist use bright colors which makes you think of happiness but then the drawings, paintings, or sculpture topic tells another story. Its not all happy. I also like how some of the artist mess with shapes or blend two shapes into ones with color. I love the abstract paintings because they are different. They aren’t exactly one thing. They can be an assortment of objects. That way people see different things because there are so many different things going on.

    I plan to use the dots texture. The circle and the circle around it. I really like that because you can use the complements of colors and makes the circles.

  9. creese.tumblr.com

    Michael Creese is one of my favorite artists-his panda paintings, landscapes, and coy fish are what he mostly does but he also does some neat ones with eyes and other things. His use of color is what I like the most about his artwork. The panda paintings in particular have so much character and often remind me of the artwork in children’s books, and I don’t mean that in a bad way at all. I’m doing a sketchbook inspired by the coy fish paintings, and I had a lot of fun using colored pencils and experimenting with blending and shading them to get a similar effect to the paints he uses.

  10. http://www.paintingportraittips.com/

    I love this artist’s style and the way that he can capture the face of any person he decides to paint. It fascinates me how well this man can paint these portraits, as well as the use of texture and technique involved with its usage of color. I have always been into portrait art and when I found this website I was looking up “tips for painting portraits”. The advice this individual gives really helped me, showing me how I could work on it. For my sketchbook, I’m planning to draw a portrait because this is what the artist on this site did. I’m sorry this comment is somewhat short, I want people to have the time to look at the site. I also have a monologue that I must have memorized by tomorrow.

  11. http://www.nga.gov/feature/rothko/intro1.shtm

    Mark Rothko is probably my favorite 20th century artist (although I flip flop often between him, Edward Hopper, and Chuck Close). Rothko’s signature style–that of large canvases of generally two rectangles overlapping each other, each glazed with several different pigments of the same color–is visually striking in its audacity, its braveness to reject subject matter and embrace complete abstraction. I find his art illuminating and psychologically stimulating in ways I couldn’t even begin to explain without sounding like the worst kind of pretentious wannabe art critic (in fact, I’m pretty sure this message is coming across pretty much exactly like that, but whatever). I think what I take most out of Rothko’s art as an artist is that if you are unsure of yourself in your ability to recreate subject matter in tasteful, creative ways (as I am, and Rothko was) there are ways to work around that hurtle that can end up just as impactful and tasteful as anything else.

    • It’s great to hear your enthusiasm for Rothko. So many people don’t “get” anything from his work. Did you like him before you saw an original or was it a result of seeing the original?

  12. http://www.keiththompsonart.com/

    I have read multiple books that Keith Thompson illustrated. I love his style. Everything seems so wonderfully Victorian, and there’s this sort of drearyness that comes across in his sketches, but somehow also feels very alive. It’s sort of cynical and wry, but also very exciting. Every picture he does makes you wonder about how he thought of it, why, the meaning behind it. It makes you want to know the story, and that’s why he’s such a great illustrator for a book. His lines are very precise, and look more like sketches than paintings or anything else. That’s really my favourite style of art, to be honest. The way he sketches makes it possible for him to do anything from humans to unreal beasts, which really shows you that he can create anything out of nothing just through his own creativity, and that’s what art is really about to me. While reading Leviathan, his illustrations were my very favourite part.

  13. http://hypebeast.com/tags/chrome-hearts
    http://global.rakuten.com/en/search?k=CHROME%20HEARTS&tl=216129&f=1

    This two sites are about the collection of Chrome Hearts. Chrome Hearts is a fashion brand. It was founded by Richard Stark. As you can find, his collections is always in gothic style. This symbol–cross is always used in his design. Besides, in order to emphasize the gothic atmosphere, he always use black as his major color, and he use some red into his collection as well. And I really like his design. I think his design is not only about clothes, rings, but also as a kind of art.

    • If you haven’t started yet, choose a painter to work from so that you are not just doing a “still life” of a designer’s objects but instead you are shaping a whole environment of color, line, and shape.

  14. http://www.abstract-art-framed.com/abstract-expressionism-art.html

    Hans Hofmann was a central figure in the evolution of abstract expressionism art. Having lived in Paris between 1904 and 1914, his early career spanned Cubism, Fauvism and Expressionism . Hofmann promoted a fusion of the Cubist and Fauvist styles at his New York art school during the 1930s. He advocated the use of color and form to express the world and encouraged his students to paint in abstraction but always with close reference to the object they were looking at.
    His teachings were a major influence on the work of many of the abstract expressionists of the time. Lee Krasner was a pupil and she in turn introduced her husband, Jackson Pollock, to Hofmann. Other pupils included Frank Stella and Helen Frankenthaler.

    • You’ve made a great choice that can be a kind of culmination for you with all you have learned about color this semester. If you ever get to the University Art Museum in Berkeley, check out his paintings on the top floor. They have a strong presence in person.

  15. http://golpeavisa.mx/#!/MJTribute

    I was looking at this page, which seems like a art collection of a Spanish artist. There are many portraits of famous athletes, singers, actors… I thought the style of those portraits is unique. Especially in the lines and shading. Some of the art has angular construction, some has soft lines. I like the way the artist composed the color and abstract part, which is very delicate.

  16. http://www.davidchoe.com/

    David Choe is an artist that I have known about for a while, I really like his art because of the intense creativity and varying styles that he expresses, he started out as a graffiti artist coming up with creative simple concepts that spread from street art into shirts and art shows, he is independently wealthy because of his work for facebook early on, getting payed in stock and then of course that stock becoming incredibly valuable.

    • I love all the various media and applications of his art. Rarely do you have an artist who does painting, sculpture, photo, video, etc. He clearly has a creative spirit and passion for art. The animations and videos are very cool. I enjoyed reading about his path to his career on the site (which then led to Wiki). How did you discover his work? It is interesting that he used a Toulouse Lautrec image as a take off point for his Slow Jam album cover illustration.

Leave a Reply

