Art 1 – glazing with transparencies and “learning to see” – Due 3/12

Standard

1. Which of the following tips  from the site below do you find most important in your exploration of the transparent painting process? Explain why in the context of one of your paintings.

tips on transparent glazing

2. What did you learn from the short article below about painting in transparent glazes and how will you apply it to your current painting?

painting in glazes in acrylics

Here’s a great quote from Black Horse Art Supply blurb on artist Carolyn Anderson:

“Interpreting visual reality should be about exploration and not just an attempt at re-creation. Great art is dependent on observation and strong visual elements. Learning to see and compare visual information is a process of growth and exploration. A drawing of a tree done by a child and an adult are not much different from one another. The difference lies in the complexity of the painting and the artist’s ability to notice nuance and variation and to organize and edit that information into a personal expression. Craft without creativity is only part of the equation. Painting is about learning to see – and hopefully, sharing how we see and what is visually important to us, with others.”

What can you find in the quote above that applies to your process of painting and discovery in the paintings you have done so far in class? Be thorough in your explanation of the ideas and their connection to your work.

Here are some of her paintings from her website:

Carolyn Anderson

For sketchbook, in preparation for your next painting, spend an hour drawing  landscapes from personal photos (show foreground, middleground, and background)  or draw directly  at a landscape  site and take a photo for  reference..

20 responses »

  1. I think the patience tip was very important as I was not patient and that made my cool blue and soft violet background begin to look more like mucky greyish water tinted blue and saturated on paper.

    I really really really liked the quote as it reminded me not to get caught up in the details, not to worry about the photorealism or amount of prowess I showed, but to stick to my guns and be as real with myself as possible as i went through the motions of the creative process.

  2. 1) I liked the final step of the 7 easy steps article. The rest of the steps were about the method and the means. The final step was what to expect. It gave you the information that you actually wanted to get from reading the article, no matter how late. Glaze helps unify the painting. That’s what I wanted to know and it’s probably the thing that I will use the most.

    2) This article began very well. It told me what to expect, what I would be learning to do, and what I could use it for. This article was informative and useful. I will probably use glazes form now on to smooth my paintings and help make backgrounds fade into the background. I will use it to extenuate the points of my paintings and make there message more forceful.

    3) So far, in this class we haven’t actually done much creative painting. It’s all been doing exercises or assignments. But now with this exercise we are really freed up. We can paint in our style in our way with few restrictions, as long as the end result is satisfactory and meets the requirements. In the quote I like the part about exploration instead of re creation. This idea has not been applied much in class.

  3. 1. I found the comment on patience and allowing the paint to dry rather than splash the colors together in a mesh of brown. Glazing requires a lot of patience, often forcing people to wait until the paint dries to take another step. I’m not naturally a patient person. I’m a messy artist. My palate is always dirty and smeared with colors, my paintings are constructed of rough, rustic strokes, and my subjects hardly ever conform to the typical standards of beauty. Along with this, I show little care as to how much my colors mix together in the painting. This article made me rethink the splashes of color overlaying each other and dulling each other, the colors blending into each other. I realize that I should change this particular part of me.

    2. The article actually gave me inspiration for another painting I’m doing right now. In this case, many of the colors need to blend together, but not smoothly. Since it’s of an abandoned amusement park, I need information for how to give the scenery a rustic feeling to it without making it too smooth or too aesthetically unpleasant. Even though it did help with my current painting, it inspired me to use some of the techniques on paintings that I am planning to enter in the County Fair at the end of the summer.

    3. I found the quote to be an insightful look into the way art develops over time and the way we see things doesn’t stay the same no matter what. Over the years, styles change, personalities change, attitudes change. A person could be an expressive impressionist one moment and a detailed realist the next. The one thing that stays constant is the creativity.

  4. 1. I really liked the seven steps article and what it showed me about art. Glazing requires a lot of patience, often forcing people to wait until the paint dries to take another step. Along with this, I show little care as to how much my colors mix together in the painting. This article made me rethink the splashes of color overlaying each other and dulling each other, the colors blending into each other.

    2. His article began very well. It told me what to expect, what I would be learning to do, and what I could use it for. This article was informative and useful. I will use it to extenuate the points of my paintings and make there message more forceful. i want to try to use glazes in my paintings now

    3. I found the quote to be an insightful look into the way art develops over time and the way we see things doesn’t stay the same no matter what.A person could be an expressive impressionist one moment and a detailed realist the next.

  5. 1. I found all the tips in this article extremely helpful for the glaze painting technique, but some that stood out were the tip about being patient and the ones about using a light background and using a soft brush. I found the ones about the light background and soft brush to be helpful for getting ready to start the glazing, and knowing how to prepare. I found the tip about being patient helpful for during the process, because if you get impatient and glaze over a wet layer, the colors will blend and not turn out as well.

    2. Questions and answers that I found useful in this areticle was the explanation of exactly what a glaze is, and what the point is of using that technique. I found it very interesting how the layering actually works, that if you make purple by doing a layer of red with a layer of blue on top, the purple you are seeing is the light bounding off the paper through the red layer and through the blue layer.

    3. What I took from this quote is that art portrays how the artist sees things. Two people could paint the exact same object and their paintings could look extremely different. This quote is helpful to remind me to not always just paint what i see, but to add my own flair to my art.

  6. 1. I found most of the techniques listed pretty helpful, and I especially appreciated the soft brush tip. I never put much thought into what brushes I use, I just go for something that would either be the most efficient (if I’m covering a large area), or is the size/shape of whatever I’m working on. From now on I’ll put more thought into that.

    2. I liked the explanation of why it’s good to use glazes because up until then I didn’t really know what the idea behind it was. I also thought that you would only be able to glaze successfully with transparent colours, but in the article it specified that opaque colours are good too.

    3. What I took from this quote was the idea of creating something that is your own, and not being frustrated when it comes out different. She says its pointless to recreate something you already have in front of you when you can change it and use your imagination. I have a difficult time straying from reality so I’ll work on that.

  7. 1. The most useful tip I gleaned from this article was to evenly distribute glaze with a soft brush. I’ve previously had the pitfall of putting too much glaze on with the wrong sort of brush and not evenly coating the entire painting. This effect made my painting disjointed and too glossy in certain areas.

    2. From this article, I learned that glazes work best in single pigments, not a mixture of two or more pigments. Often in painting, I get carried away and glop too many colors on, creating a muddy color. For my next painting, I will strive for simplicity.

    This quote brings up a good point–painting is not simply about recreation, it’s also about personal perception. Every person has a different way of looking at things, and this manifests itself in artwork. Personally, I can use this advice to focus more on what my work is trying to convey, not simply recreating reality.

  8. 1) The second tip is very true. I put another layer on top of one that wasn’t quite dry yet, and I ended up having to redo both layers. The hair dryer is helpful in these situations, because you don’t have to just sit and let it dry.

    2) I was previously unaware of the science behind the technique, the light passing through all the layers and so on. I also learned that the brush you use matters.

    3) I feel unsatisfied when a piece of art doesn’t look like what I’m trying to depict. I strive for accuracy more than expression, and am disappointed when it turns out not to look right. And they often don’t turn out right, that is, look real. I think this stems from my, perhaps, more logical or mathematical brain wanting to recreate what I’m looking at, or what’s in my mind’s eye. And I often don’t have the patience to see a drawing through or observe the object enough to draw it realistically. And I don’t have good hand-eye coordination, ergo I have bad handwriting and am bad at catching things that are thrown at me.

  9. Tip # 2: During the second bird piece I didn’t let the background of my bird dry completely and when I tried to draw an outline around the bird to accent some of the shadows the two colors mixed and I didn’t get quite the effect I was going for.
    I think this quote is right and it definitely applied to my bird paintings. When I was drawing the bird in black and white with a pencil I thought it was a lot more lifelike than when I drew in pen. The pen took away my ability to draw shadows through shading and so it was hard to draw exactly what was in front of me. I think that art should always be an expression of yourself and when we began drawing the birds with color I was able to do that. Using colors that had nothing to do with the birds actually color gave me the freedom to see as well as be creative. As kids mature I think that they can begin to see more detail in the world surrounding them but I think that the people who have the most interesting work never let go of the creativity that they have had since they first picked up a pen.

  10. 1. The one I found important tip is be extremely patient. Because it is not easy to use watercolor to trace the outline, the more caution you paid, the better the picture turns out distinguishable and clear.

    2. First, The effect would be different if I mixed red and blue compare to paint a red layer over a blue layer. It would look much richer if I do them separately; so I need to be cautious to use a layer cover another layer. The best effect is always created by one layer. On the other hand, there is no necessary limitation on color. I could try different color composition, and the result would not be known until I finished.

    3. The quote told a thing that is mentioned for several times in the class: painting is about learning to see. The world is not changing, but everyone has different perspective. It led to diverse styles of art and they could not really be judged by one standard.

  11. 1.)The second tip is the most important because patience you can’t rush painting. Artist take there time because then the painting means more to them. That is why when I am painting I try to do as much with the color I have before I need to let it dry because then I get the most out of the color. But I can also use the hair dryer if I still have a bunch of time left in class.

    2.)If what I read I learned that using one color at a time in a glaze is better than using two. You can use many colors but instead of mixing them and making one glaze people should really make two different glazes and the color with mix on the paper. You can also had as many layers as you want. There is no limit. For me instead of just one color I will use the layers because I think it turns out better.

    3.)From the quotes I took out a lot of things. That people should be happy when something doesn’t come out how they want because it helps them grow and become better. A person can only control the paint to a certain extant. The paint does what it wants and its not always what the artist wants. Also the quote said a lot about learning to see. An artist has to draw what they see not what they want. This is a challenge. And it takes a lot of practice and concentration.

  12. 1) I think the layering tip was definitely the most useful one, we’ve talked about in class but it really does effect what type of color you can get. It’s gives you the ability to explore another range of tones and color experimentation than when you just a coat or two of a color. It’s like with the bird paintings we’re doing; in mine the background is an ocean and I layered a blue and a green to create a turquoise that I wouldn’t have discovered otherwise.

    2. I learned of the dangers of muddling colors. I already knew that it layering different colors would create a brown or a grey-ish shade after not too long, but I think I thought it was harder to do that with layering than just mixing the colors straight out of the tube.

    3) The quote applies to everything we do in art class. It’s all about how you view something, how you want to express it in your art work, what you notice as opposed to someone else. It’s really personal and there absolutely is a lot of exploration, not only in how you decide to recreate a certain image but in the colors you use, the mediums, different techniques, stylistic etc. You can see what is important to an artist by noticing how they deal with all of the elements.

  13. 1) Overall, I think most of the tips are useful and interesting to know about. I found tip #2 useful in that artists need to be patient with their paint and glaze layers. Sometimes when I feel really productive in class, I feel eager to apply another coat of paint onto my artwork. However, this will ultimately cause more harm than help. It may produce a cool color or texture, but it isn’t what the artist intended and it isn’t worth the risk. A hair dryer is a helpful tool to dry the layers.

    2) From the article in the second link, I learned a little bit about glaze. Glaze is an optional painting technique that is applied in layers. Glazes come in a variety of colors and they are used to modify the layer of paint beneath it. They can darken or brighten or change the color of the paint layer. Glazed paints are also more vibrant and richer than normal paint.

    3) I really liked the quote and what it offered us as artists. To me, the quote means that we should all learn to analyze visual reality and to interpret it in our own way. We should be able to see the small but important thing, and learn to convey them in our own artwork in our own unique way.

  14. 1. I think point #4 was very important because if you screw up your base color then you painting cant look the same
    2. I learned what glaze was ( which was a term i didn’t know before other than in the general sense)
    3. I like how the quote explains the difference between a child and an adults drawing of a tree and how they are not much different.

  15. I’ve never really used any of these tips (at least, not on purpose), but it seems that the article really stresses the importance of patience, how it’s necessary for glazing to occur.
    I learned in this article how and why glazing makes for a nicer effect than just mixing colors in a palette.
    I saw this quote as a quick summation of what all art tries to do: not to imitate reality but to show it in all its different forms. Visual art is about emotional, spiritual representation, not physical.

  16. 1. The most important is definitely patience since it’s what the whole idea of glazing is based about. But other than that I think it’s important to remember to make every layer an even tone, not big lumps and globs and whatnot.

    2. I learned what glazing is! (Exciting!) I had already been putting the technique to use in my bird painting, but I had just been calling it layering, so it’s nice to know what it’s called. It makes me sound like a fancier artist who knows things and is intelligent about the ways of fine artistic culture, which is always good.

    3. I think what’s important to take out of this quote is almost anyone, even a kid, can look at something and recreate it (maybe not skillfully) on a piece of paper, but what’s really important is how you SEE it personally. Like, the tree might hold some deep hidden meaning to you that you can convey in your art to make it entirely your own and some great creation that no one has ever seen before, even though you’re just drawing the same old boring oak tree. So it’s important to keep in mind that you’re doing the art as personal expression and not just a routine you should follow out because a teacher is telling you to.

  17. 1. the No.4 tip that use a light ground really warms me. Also, the no.7, remember to unify the whole painting with a final glaze. What’s more, wait until the previous layer becomes dry, then put on the second layer or put on other color.

    2. After reading that article, I learned what is “glaze”. To show the difference, I can use serval glazes by using different colors to reflect the effect that I actually want.

    3. As the quotation mentions: “Learning to see and compare visual information is a process of growth and exploration.” If you don’t learn to see, compare and see what can create a better effect, how to represent what you want more obviously; your drawing won’t have any differences with a child, maybe the child will have better imagination than you… Besides, don’t judge others’ paintings easily even you might not agree with them.

  18. 1. Tip #2 is really obvious but I find it to be one of the most important ones. If you can’t find the time to slow down and think about every step of the painting then it just won’t come out the way you expect.
    2. I learned that I need to make sure that I use transparent colors more often instead of darker, more opaque colors.
    3. I enjoyed the quote. Although it seemed cliche it was actually a great insight on what art really should be. For some people art is just about going through the motions, but I really do think that art is an experience not worth wasting.

  19. 1. Tip #7 to go over the whole painting with a glaze was important, I thought, because it gives a kind of final touch to your painting.

    2. I learned that glazing works best with only a few colors, and not a big muddled mess.

    3. I like the idea of exploration as opposed to recreation in painting: the idea of exploring your own creative mind rather than copying someone else’s.

Leave a Reply

