Art 3 – Figure in a setting / woodcut style – for Crit Due 2/28

Standard

Look and read about each of these four links before you start your project.

Edward Hopper and cinema

Hopper and Hitchcock

Hopper at MOMA and East Side Interior

Martin Lewis prints

Comment on what interests you about each of the sites.  Also share ideas which you have for creating an ink drawing with contour, cross contour, and cross-hatching with inflence by Hopper, film noir and/or cinema. How will you create a “cinematic” view?

5 responses »

  1. I found it very i nteresting in the first sight, how he took inspiration strongly from the movie theatre and would see movies and then draw pictures inspired by the idea of a movie following the personal life of someone. Also from the second site I found it interesting that Hitchock made a movie based on Hoppers house which is ironic because hoppers main inspiration is taken from great movies. In the third document, I thought it was interesting how his parents wanted him to become a commercial artist, and considering how today the cinematic business is mainly commercial, he found a way around the expectations of his family. In the fourth site, I thought it was interesting how each of his drawings kinda lead to something mysterious and they always make the viewer feel like there is something more to the story much like watching a movie. I think in my own art, I can achieve the assignment by drawing scenes from angles I have seen in movies…And telling a story….thinking of myself as a movie director and wanting to convey a story and suspense to the audience. I would create a composition that really goes deep into the background..and leave a strong element of mystery like a dark road or a whole…or a cave…

    • Angles of the “shot” are very important, as you know from photography. (Actually, the influence of photography on painting was important even for the Impressionists. Some of Degas work demonstrate the aesthetic of instantaneity.) With the cinematic influence of film noir on composition, look for figures as well as buildings in silhouette. Usually the shadows occupy large parts in the composition.

  2. I love the whole melancholic, nostalgic (and saudade) aura of the type of art. It’s dark, it’s mysterious, and it creates a story. It’s really interesting that Hopper was inspired by movies. Movies inspire me, too. Every time I finish watching a movie, I feel like I’ve awoken into a different world. My dad says that in a good movie, you should be able to pause at any random time and have that scene on which you paused be a beautifully composed picture. This is perfect for artists because, if you look at single shots of a film, you are seeing a series of pictures telling a story. In the second blog, it’s cool how they arranged the pictures, showing one from Hopper and one almost identical shot from Hitchcock. It really gives you a sense of how much the two were inspired by each other. I wonder why Hopper hated illustrations. I love drawing characters! And he painted stories already, so what’s wrong with painting someone else’s story? Just a difference of opinion, I guess. About the fourth blog, it’s sad that Martin Lewis was forgotten; I like his work. Like Hopper’s, it’s nostalgic, a bit sinister, and it tells a story. Plus, it’s beautiful. I especially like the “Stoops in the Snow” one.

    For my ink drawing, I think I’m going to do a child on a swing on a rainy night. The “camera” will be a bit above and to the right of the child, looking down on him from behind.

    • That is so true – each frame in a movie should be a strong composition. And that quality is what separates the fine art of cinema from bland filmmaking. Thinking about cinema is a wonderful way for you to envision the point of view in your drawing.

  3. I really like this type of art. As Lackless said, it gives off a mysterious aura. I liked learning about Hopper because while he is very famous, I had never known his name. I had always seen his paintings and been impressed, but never known who the artist was. I like that Hopper was inspired by movies (many being Hitchcock). A lot of artists are inspired by the world around them but I like the idea of representing an imaginary and cinematic world. I love the use of black and white contour and the use of shading through crosshatching. I would definitely use this style more if I was more practiced at it. I think the style gives the art a more comic book feel, which is a good thing in my opinion. Hopper’s paintings are even more impressive. He combines his comic book cinematic style with the use of color. I also really liked Lewis’ art. While similar to Hopper’s, it seemed like Lewis had a greater emphasis on light rather than on shadow. He also incorporated the cinematic aspect to his art just as Hopper had.
    For my ink drawing I am drawing myself on a swing. I haven’t decided on the background yet.

Leave a Reply

