Art 2 – Automatist creation – for Crit Due 2/28

Standard

Enjoy the video and let your imagination wander  with these images.

Read about Max Ernst and his use of decalcomania

Max Ernst / Decalcomania

And consider what he says about the outer and inner eye in artistic creation as well as his historic context

As a possible way to approach your painting, (with acrylic and matt medium instead of oil paint and turpenoid), watch the techniques in this video

Comment on ideas gained from each of the  4 links.

Also comment on the approaches you will take in setting up your abstract ground, how you will work to reveal imagery in your painting, and the path you hope to follow as it evolves.

11 responses »

  1. Really what I gained from these videos is just letting the painting take your where it takes you. While I do think that Ernst’s ideas and techniques are interesting, they’re not my favorite kind of subconscious/surrealist art. I’m a big fan of Magritte, André Masson, and Jean Arp. I do think that Masson and Arp’s techniques are more applicable to this project. I really like the idea of using the Surrealist technique of automatic painting and drip painting so that you’re not fully aware of what you’re doing with the medium. Even though he’s more along the lines of abstract expressionism, I really like the technique of scraping the different layers of background that Gerhard Richter uses.

    • There is a distinction between the “Veristic” Surrealists like Magritte and the “Absolute” Surrealists like Miro and Arp. Usually the Veristic artists do not start with the Automatist method although Ernst is an exception to this. You are right that it is suited more to artists like Arp and Masson. Masson loved the method, even in drawing.

  2. What I learned from watching the videos was to just start painting and as shapes appear on the paper, to use your imagination to turn them into things, like trees or birds. I thought that it was very fortuitous that security guards liked Max Ernst’s artwork when he was trying to get through customs to get out of France, and they let him pass because of it. I liked the petrified wood painting in the second video, because of the texture, and the way the browns, golds, and purples, stood out against the black background. I was interested in how, in the third video, the artist Lynette Bettini pressed the plastic wrap to the painted paper, and lifted it up almost immediately, whereas I always left it until the paint was dry. The end result looked the same, so I may try that next time.

    • It is interesting that the security guards were able to take liberties with the rules based on their artistic tastes! Remember, Bettini was using a different kind of paint and medium (oil and turpenoid) so with acrylic, you have to let it dry a little bit.

  3. In my opinion the first video enforced the idea that both negative and positive spaces can create hidden figures and shapes. Like Urocyon, I found it interesting that, in the article about Max Ernst, the security guards let Ernst pass and gave him advice about which train to take simply because they liked his art. I also liked the texture of his paintings that were shown throughout the article. In the movie about Max Ernst, I appreciated his idea of closing one eye and looking inward and opening the other eye and looking outward. I agree that it is important to have a grasp on what is going on with oneself and in one’s own world while also having an awareness of the surrounding world. In the last video, I liked learning about the decalcomania technique since I previously did not know much about it. I liked seeing how she developed her painting and how she deciphered her composition among the imprints of the plastic wrap. I am currently using the decalcomania technique for my own art piece and it was useful to see how she established her foreground by using shading techniques and by painting in the background.

    • I like that advice from Ernst, to hve one eye on the inner world and one eye on the outer in making art. It reminds me of Gauguin’s statement “I close my eyes that I might see.” As a result, his scenes of Tahiti ended up incoporating the settings of Tahiti in a mysterious and dreamlike way.

  4. I got that you just let the painting go where ever it goes, and not to worry about it. It was very interesting about the whole inner eye, and it made sense that you have to look inside yourself in order to do art. I really like using the decalcomania, and like it. I really liked the shading, and how simple she made it.

  5. I like in these videos you just start painting and see where it will take you.Shapes appear on your paper and you just get an idea! Its easier to look from far away and then you might see something and start making it into a painting. I thought the Ernst paintings were really creative but kind of strange. the first video had negative and positive space which made you see the paintings in a different way. I made those when i was in psychology first semester. I like in the third video how lynette battini did all the different shading and made a really cool landscape painting. i really liked her color scheme and i liked the trees in it.

  6. what inspired me about the videos was how the elements from every stage of creation are evident in the final picture. the layers of texture and spacing make an interesting contrast that is still present at the end of the project. i think it’s cool that the artists start from nothing, just feelings and creative interest and they are able to generate beautiful and complex paintings without any initial view for the composition of the portrait. i made use of ceran wrap and napkins to create lighter areas and fractured texture. i used the napkin most to turn blots of paint into light circles, creating leaves and textures and an interesting movement on the paper.

  7. In the first vedio I was really impressed by the symmetry of those pictures. Those pictures really work out creative although we all know they are created randomly. Sometimes great art does not come out from a single path, but the plural paths. Great art comes by chance, and we need to learn to catch it.
    I think Max’s idea is kind of crazy but I believe he stands at a much higher level than me in art. In my personal opinion, i do not like Max’s idea which is kind of not relate to the real life, but I respect his passion of the art.

  8. I like in the first video, I remembered that i have been done that work when i was grade 10. My teacher gave us a piece of paper and told us to draw something on a half of paper and then flow it.
    It will get something like that as a video. I think there is a good idea for children which make them have a difference imagination. And i like the way that artist start from nothing, just use feeling and some creative interest. I also like the third video how she did all the different shading and how simple of it.

Leave a Reply

