Art 1 – Color! Due 2/ 11

Standard

color.method.ac

Spend at least 15 minutes doing this game (see link)…..try to perfect your matches and do all three levels.

Leave a detailed comment about your experience, your perceptions and the development of your ability to perceive color..

You are learning about saturation and value by exercising your eyes….what better preparation for painting?!

Continue the imaginary bird drawings from last week…..consider birds which incorporate the theme “flights of imagination.”

Spend a full hour, any media, keep track of time on the side or back of drawing.

38 responses »

  1. I spent a good ten to fifteen minutes on this, and couldn’t get above a 8.2! I don’t know why, but the complementary colors always threw me off. Everything else I seemed to be okay it, for the most part. Anyway, I think that this really makes you appreciate how many shades and tones of each color there are. When we say, “Oh, just paint it blue!” that could mean so many different things! There are hundreds of different saturation of the color blue. If I’ve learned anything from this exercise, it’s that I should paint very carefully. My advice to myself and peers is to paint one layer at a time. In the beginning, err on the side of lighter than you need to be. For these paints, you can always make the tone darker, but it’s very difficult, and maybe even impossible, to make the tone lighter. And on another note, if you go layer by layer, you can get a larger range of tones and a more subtle and precise bird! It’s a win-win situation!

  2. I took about 12 minutes on this and my best score was an 8.4 and i thought that was pretty good. It was hard to match them especially if you have a computer that lags or is jerky. After I did this I felt it was easier to see color and the different colors are formed.

  3. At first it seemed very difficult to match the color exactly but as I continued the game I noticed that it got easier and I became mor familiar with the color wheel. When I had to match more than one color I found it difficult to match the correct dot to the color. It was hard to get a good score for me because my computer kept freezing.

  4. I played the game twice…(must more than 15 minutes…). At the first time, I got a low score. Because when I started the complementary, analogous, and then triadic, tetradic; I found the point from one increased to four. And it’s more difficult to determine the color. What’s more, I put the point in the wrong area, for example, I should find the color pink, but I moved the point on the blue area. So I couldn’t find the right color at all. However, I did pretty well on the second time.
    From this game, I realize there are so many different kinds of red, blue and so on. It offers me more choices on painting in the future. In addition, if you put the point on the wrong area, you could find out there are so many various combinations of the colors. How amazing they are!
    The birds in the sky, if you look carefully, you’ll be surprised how different and various they are. Every birds have their own style of shapes, colors… And the color combinations of each bird can bring you the inspirations on painting the colors.

  5. I played the game twice, and I did much better the first time than I did the second (no idea why!) My better score was 8.4. On the first section, Hue, I got 10 out of 10, and found it really easy. I’m relatively good at identifying colors. On saturation, I got 9 out of 10, but I do not know why because when doing Complementary, I got 10 out of 10. Maybe I got distracted by something (as far as I recall, that was just when a good song came on the radio). Those were all relatively easy. The anaologous one got me a 7 out of 10, because the time you have to match them is less, and I guess it was a little more difficult to see? Triadic was awful, as my score was 6 out of 10, but the tetadric was 9 out of 10. I honestly have no way to explain this.

  6. After spending some frustrating minutes on it, I came to realize that the more colors you had to think about, the harder it was. Also, when colors are very close to each other in hue and saturation, they become very hard to distinguish! The analogous part was perhaps the hardest, because I had to think about all three colors and six hues and saturations. And the distance of the circles changed as you changed the saturation. I did best on the hue part, it was the simplest, after all.

  7. I thought this game was pretty challenging. I spent about 15 minuets playing it and each time I got the about the same score, always somewhere in the 7’s range (I played it twice). The most challenging level for me was the tradic because no only did you have to determine the hue, you had to match all three to that hue. Sometimes i couldn’t figure out which little circle I was controlling. I actually thought the tetradic was easier then the tradic and analogous (the second hardest level for me.) Over all, this game was helpfull in developing my eye for color and learning some of the vocabulary, such as the meaning of the word analogous.

  8. This game is easy once you figure out the trick. All you have to do is figure out one color and the others will automatically line up. When you look at it like that then every level is just another version of level two. I did it for fifteen minutes, and it was fun, however I don’t think fifteen minutes is enough to really effect color perception one way or the other. They say it takes 10,000 hours to master something, so therefor a measly fifteen minutes won’t effect me. Still it might, as FiddleGirl pointed out help with vocabulary.

  9. Like Frodude, my strategy was to focus on one color on the complementary, analogous, triadic, and tetradic levels. This made the game a lot easier because focusing on a single color is a much easier task than focusing on multiple.

    After I played this game twice, I found that matching the least saturated colors was the most difficult part for me. Since these colors are more washed out and sort of grey, they’re harder to distinguish. However, this game definitely could be a tool for training our eyes to distinguish color more accurately, but it would take lots of practice, as FroDude pointed out.

  10. That was a very stressful 15 minutes. I don’t like timed games very much. It was pretty hard at first and kind of confusing but it got easier as I got used to it. At first, I found myself just turning the dots around in a circle and not moving them in and out so much but once I started doing that I got better at it. Trying to pick the colors out from the whole spectrum is really difficult. You know you’re looking for blue but which blue? Sorting through all of the colors is hard but also interesting but it makes you notice how many colors there actually are.

  11. At first I found it very hard to match all the colors. I was looking at the color wheel and my head kinda hurt because there were so many colors. But the more I played the game the easier it got and it got easier to find the colors because I was looking at it for so long. The analogous kinda confuse me and after you have to match more than three colors I start to do horrible because I am looking at all the colors. But then I realized to just find one color and all the other colors would line up to. After I figured that out the game got easier and easier. And once it got easier it was more fun to play because it took me less time to find the colors and I got a higher score.

    • I think if there were no timer, the process would be a lot more pleasing and useful to training the eye. People wouldn’t be inclined to take the shortcut and would enjoy the process more. But there are those who like the game aspect.

  12. I played the game three times trying to improve my score each time but the highest score I was able to get was 9.2 on my third time trying the game. Something that I recognized after playing the game the first two times was that its alot easier to first find the hue then find the right saturation. The hardest section for me was the analogous section, because the hues were so close together it made it hard for me to distinguish between them. This game has taught me that once you understand a hue you can play with the saturation in order to get the right mix. It also told me that when using more than one color with analogous for example you want to keep the saturation the same for all of your hues.

  13. Well, this is sufficiently awkward because my score is lower than everyone elses, but nonetheless I will share it. My highest score was 7.8. I thought the difficult part was once it got to the tricolor, I think it was? Not because finding the color was too hard, but because I would match up the wrong points with the color, and have to find them like three times…So I failed pretty bad. But I had a lot of fun with it and it definitely helped me see a wider range of colors than I normally would have. By seeing the colors they give you, and trying to find them, it forces you to see where they are on the color wheel and not just think “Oh that’s a red” but see in contrast to a more orange red, or a darker or lighter one, where it falls on the color wheel.

  14. The color game was very fun but difficult. I played it a few times and worked my score up especially on the last section, but all the colors and the options and everything made the game exciting and interesting even if it just had to do with colors. Overall, I enjoyed the game and the difficulty progression but it was hard to learn anything such as the compliments when you’re timed. Strangely enough, I played the game a few days before you showed us. I was browsing the internet and came across the game and played one game. I didn’t do very well but still enjoyed it. Is this a new game?

  15. This game is fun but not that difficult, I always tried to match one color for one point and others come out either. And I actually did pretty good on it. However, it is more difficult when I am not using trick and tried to match it by eyes. There are so much color that I cant recognize a color immediately.

  16. I played the game a few times and found that it was relatively easy to match the colors based on hue and saturation, but the last levels were difficult only because of time constraints. I feel this is more a test of muscle memory than of color finding. Aside from that the game was fairly entertaining and I feel like it helped me to tell colors apart a bit better.

  17. The first time i played i think i got a 8.5 but then got really frustrated with the game the second time i played it, and got a lower score. The first three, (hue, saturation and complementary) i got 10 on but then i just got really mad at it.. Anyways, I also think it is a really cool game and smart to play it when we are about to paint and all. It really makes you realize how many different colors there are. That red, green, or blue are not just three colors but so many more. I feel like playing this game was both interesting frustrating, because there are so many different choices and you really have to concentrate to get it perfect. I actually think the only reason I found it hard and annoying was because it was timed, and I hate being timed. It can sometimes make me worse than I actually am just cause i get stressed out.

  18. It was interesting to see how well i could see color and match multiple colors at the same time
    i swear at some points it was impossible….
    but its a fun game
    my first score was 8.3 then highest was 8.8

  19. My first score was higher the first time than the other times I played the game maybe due to the fact that each time I played it I was distracted by another Grammys performance that my sister called me down to watch. After said distraction was eliminated, I was able to achieve an 8.2 score on it. I’m planning on going back to play the game again in hopes of getting a perfect score with practice. I found that if I paid too much attention to one color, the others might be neglected and they might end up completely different from what you would expect it to be. The game also gives an important exercise in multitasking. In painting, an artist often has to do many things at once to get the desired effect. My strategy was to focus on one color, and then adjust it so that the colors would match each other. The one problem with the strategy was the time limit, which forced me to make my decisions quickly.

    • Great point about how you have to juggle colors in a painting. Matisse talks about this. He said that when he added a new color in a painting, he had to reevaluate all the previous colors present to rebalance it.

  20. I played the game a few times. I found the more I played, the better I got at distinguishing between shades of colors (say a greenish-yellow from a yellowish-green) and the better I got at detecting where it would be in the color wheel. The hues I had the hardest time with were the brownish shades.

  21. I played it and did pretty well actually. It was just difficult having to melt together the senses of space and color, and corresponding directions for different hues and such. Overall it was pretty fun and I got decently high scores. There were just certain hues I could not retain in terms of spacial memory.

  22. I did this test 3 times and enjoyed it a lot. However I felt that for me personally the hardest was the complementary. I think it would’ve been easier for me if it was based only on hue and not saturation as well.

  23. I did this twice, and the first time i did it i got an 8.4, and then the second time I got a 9.4. I found the second time that it was easier to look at just one of the colors in the multiple colored ones, because if you matched up just one of the colors then the others would match up as well. Plus, it was much easier to look at just one at a time.

Leave a Reply

