Art 3 – Due 11/15 Chardin and Kentridge

Standard

Listen to the following video about Chardin.  Comment on what Rosenberg means when he says Chardin paints “silence” and how he became a painter of sensibilities or sentiments. How can meaning come from simple everyday objects? Why was he appealing to painters in the 19th and 20th centuries?

NOW, look at this contemporary artist, William Kentridge, and see how he uses charcoal drawings to create animated films. Listen to his comments in both clips. Comment on how he uses charcoal, creates meaning through the transitions of one object or scene into another, and how his stories contribute to and reflect upon his native South Africa, particularly during the period of apartheid.

3 responses »

  1. I really liked the paintings of Chardin’s that I saw in this video. I think what Rosenberg means when he says Chardin paints “silence” is that his paintings are simple and about everyday life, not about war and death, as Picasso’s are, to use an example from the video. They’re about normal people going about their daily lives, they’re still lives. Still lives are inherently silent, because, of course, there is no life in them; there’s nothing really “going on,” action-wise. But everyday scenes are silent as well, in their simplicity and in their familiarity.

    I think that, often, simple, everyday objects are more meaningful than loftier, sort of prouder subjects, such as mortality and horror, because our minds are able to grasp the scope of the everyday objects better. Everyday objects contain meaning for all of us because we have more experience with them than with death, for example. I think that is what Rosenberg means by “painting sentiment.” We can truly identify with his paintings. And this, too, is why he was appealing to painters in the 19th and 20th centuries. As Rosenberg says, he was a painter for painters.

    Kentridge’s art creeped me out a bit. I think the story of his animation went like this: a man watched a black man being lynched (or maybe helped lynch him). Then he kept driving and hit a man with his car, and that put him in the hospital. Is that right? I’m not sure….If so, the lynching relates to the period of apartheid in that a black person was being abused. I thought the way he used charcoal was really cool, putting a coat of pulverized charcoal on with a paint brush. I like the way his pictures just flow from one image to another.

  2. To be honest I don’t really know what Rosenberg meant by “he paints silence,” but I can take a guess! I think he means that Chardin paintings were not expressive and did not contain much action. In many paintings, there is a lot going on. In Chardin’s paintings, the objects do not say anything to the viewer. They simply are just there, in space, or in a room. Some of the people are performing different tasks but overall there the theme is very simplistic. I think Chardin was a painter of sentiments because he paints everyday objects that we are used to seeing. There is no surprise or confusion in his pieces.

    Kentridge’s art scared me, but I think that was the intention. I was also confused what happened. I think a man was driving and witnessed a black man being beaten to death but didn’t stop or interfere with the situation. Then it looked like he hit a white man and ended up in the hospital . It related to apartheid because a black man was beaten and the guilty man was to afraid to help him. I liked the use of charcoal too and how hard he must have worked to create the animation impressed me

  3. I think that Rosenberg meant “he paints silence” by painting everyday, common objects without life or curiosity. Chardin’s paintings we’re lovely! And I really liked his realistic approach to what most people don’t see- the common object. Also, I think he was highly viewed as a painter because he was able to paint such simple things in such a complex way, and influence the viewer. He creates art that we can connect with and understand because we know the material, and makes us notice different shapes or details.

    Kentridge is weird…I don’t know how I feel about his art. The story was very eerie and confusing. I’m pretty sure a man in the hospital dreams about how he got hit by a car and the events on that street that day- like the stabbing of a black man- then he feels the wounds of the stabbing in himself. Though, I did love the freedom in his charcoal drawings and how he talked about how he doesn’t think that creating a fully finished and polished drawing is reflective of his style, especially when they are only seen for less than a second each. He really showed deep shadow and style with the charcoal, i think its a great medium for the spooky, rooted work hes doing.

Leave a Reply

