ART 3 – Portrait styles Due 9/25

Standard

1. Look at the following blog post on Francoise Gilot and the variable thickness in the expressive contour lines.

francoise-gilot.html

2. Look at Google images for Francoise Gilot portrait drawings, Picasso portrait drawings and Andy Warhol drawings. Look especially at the contour line drawings by Gilot, portraits of Jaqueline by Picasso, and the color and shapes used by Warhol.

3. Look at the speed drawing and the portraits by Warhol floating behind. When the drawing starts to talk, you can just listen to the interview if it is too eerie for you.  Also enjoy the David Byrne music accompanying the Warhol imagery in the second selection.

4. Post your favorite drawing from each of these  and any other artists (black and white or color, linear or painterly.) Explain what makes the drawing expressive and how you might incorporate some of the techniques into your portrait “derivatives.”

6 responses »

  1. I never realized he worked from poloroid portraits, that he did multiples of the same person which I thought were prints rather than individual drawings. Also interesting was that he took the mouth from one photo and nose from another(examples) to make another drawing of the same person. I think he liked doing the same person again and again because he really got to ‘know’ the characteristics that made the ID of that person; reducing the drawing to black and white, sometimes one shade of gray, was a dramatic evolving statement; then enlarging the drawings to 40″ by 40″. My favorites included Judy Garland, George Harrison; then I really liked the somewhat symetrical joining of the Ali portrait with 3 eyes and 2 noses since I really had not seen these before. These make the Marilyn Monroe portraits less ‘fantastic’ for me.

  2. The interview was interesting, although it was kind of creepy how the portrait was talking. I like the fact that Warhol would rather draw many portraits of one person than work really hard on one portrait of that person.

    My favorite painting by Gilot was the first woman on the blog, the one next to the flowers. I think her eyes are very expressive, and I also like the slight curve of her neck for some reason. The way Gilot drew her reminds me of the thick and thin line drawing we did of our own portraits.

    I love the portrait called Jacqueline with Flowers that Picasso did in 1954. The sharp angles he used, especially in her hair really show you what kind of woman this is. It almost makes me want to do a line drawing of my portrait using sharp angles like that.

    The portrait at 4:04 in the second video is my favorite by Warhol. The use of color is great, particularly on her lips. They’re so red! I want to do a pastel drawing that exaggerates the actual colors of my face like this.

  3. wow, the talking face was really creepy. phew! I’ve done a report on Warhol and his artistic techniques and ideas, but the first video really showed the variation in Andy Warhol’s work. He really liked to play with the tone and color, and even the features of each portrait. I really like all of them, and how many he makes! wow. The last lady, drawn by Gilot, at a side angle is beautiful. He really captures the depth and expression of her face with very few lines. I find it difficult to show a true, realistic portrait with such few lines, but Gilot is able to. I hope to try less detail, and more depth in my portraits. I looked at the “jacqueline with crossed hands” by Picasso and, even those it is not my favorite style of art, I love the way he accents the jaw bone and defines the face with just one single stroke. Picasso also plays with the proportion and size of the features, but I think it is a cool way to make them stand out (like the eyes) with such few lines. I have a huge Andy Warhol, Marylin print in my room and i stare at it everyday, because I love the crazy, bright colors he dares to use and the way each make the features stand out. I want to try one with really bright colors, or maybe a few blocks of different colors, like the one at 1:52 in the second video. It would be really fun to play with the colors and the way they blend (or not blend) together on the face.

  4. I think it’s interesting that Warhol did many portraits of the same person and sometimes used the best parts of each portrait to create his final portrait. I think that’s what we’re doing right now in art. The reason we are are doing so many copies of our portrait is to create our own style. This is why Warhol was, in my opinion, so creative. He gave himself many ideas to work with. My favorite portrait by Warhol was at 1:44. It is a portrait of a blonde man with glasses and a pipe. I love the way Warhol uses color to shade and create lines. When I create my individualized portrait style, I will most likely base my creation off of his use of color.
    My favorite portrait by Gilot is I think a self portrait of her with flowers in her hair. It nicely incorporate the use of thick and thin lines that we have been practicing in class.

  5. I really like how Francoise Gilot does the hair in her portraits. She doesn’t use that many lines to define it so it’s all simple and pretty. Picasso is interesting… I’m not a huge fan but I did like how, when using the lines to define facial characteristics, he used other colors as well that were softer than the black instead of just using thin lines. Andy Warhol is also big on color and I liked how he kind of used it to make certain features more present/important.
    The Warhol talking face was insanely creepy. nuff said.
    The piece that I liked was the one in the second video at 2:42. I don’t know, I just really like the color and intensity of her eyes, nose and mouth and how everything else is so soft. Krista already covered color so I don’t know how’d I’d incorporate this?

  6. I also really enjoy how francoise does the hair in her portraits. That is always a very difficult part for me when drawing a person, by adding tons of lines the hair doesnt come across as genuine. I feel that color in both videos played a very important roll rather than simply making thick black lines worhol used color to accentuate certain facial features, and i can say from personal experience that is very difficult to do.

Leave a Reply

