Art 1 – for 4/16

Standard

Watch the following conversation with artist Angus Wilson about still life painting:

and the short video of his still life paintings:

Make comments about:

1. ideas he talks about regarding still life painting that you find of interest

2. techniques from his work that you will try in your still life painting in color, composition, or style

and,

3. describe which one you like the best and explain why.

In your sketchbook, do an hour drawing in the style of Angus Wilson, use color.

27 responses »

  1. I like his style. I am very impressed because i am not really drawn to still life paintings in any way, but i like his paintings a lot. Particularly the way he uses light and shadow is cool. It gives each object some pop as well as the texture he creates. So i think you can either look at the paintings as a whole or look at particular parts and it works well either way.

    I like his style because the paintings look real but they also seem to incorporate some sort of abstractness so that they don’t look like just another dumb still life. So for me the paintings are not too abstract or too real. I don’t really know exactly what he intended, but i like it.

    I think my favorite is the first one in the second video.
    The red in the watermelon gives a cool contrast. it pops out and you’re like omigod that’s crazy.

    I don’t think i will actively incorporate any elements of his work into my still life and if i do it will be accidentally. I think Wolf Khan’s style seems better suited for me, even though he drew landscapes… i dont know.
    Why do my comments always seem a lot longer than all yall’s?

  2. A comment that I found really interesting how he says that he, “ finds his voice” in his paintings. An idea he said is that he likes to try and control the viewer and what they think when they see a painting, and how he tries to put, “a little bit of everything”, and make it, “instantly recognizable and extremely distinctive.” A technique I could do in my own work, is that I could try to add a lot of lines, not make it so, “straight forward” like he says art is now and to try and challenge the viewers, to control where the eyes go when they see a painting. My favorite painting was the one with the white flowers with the blue and green background and the water melon next to it. I like it because the first thing that the painting drew my eyes in were the white flowers since that’s the only thing that’s white. I now understand what he means by, “eye control”!

  3. I like that while his subject matter is very realistic, his bright and cheerful colors almost make his paintings abstract. I love his color palettes- he uses great constrastnig and analogous colors. The was a painting that had a great detail of a peeled orange. I think all of Wilson’s paintings have great movement in them, if that makes sense–even though they are still lifes, the objects are in the act of doing something (Like the orange being peeled, or the flowers wilting slightly, or the watermelon just having been cut open). My favorite pieces of his are his still lifes of flowers–I like his color contrast.

  4. I think it is interesting that he decided on painting still-life so that he could find his own distinctive style in it. Well, since I already finished my still life, I most likely won’t be incorporating any of his techniques, but I do feel I used a similar technique in color layering. I personally like his painting with the lilies because those are my favorite flower and I think he did a good job so show its shades of color.

  5. I think it is interesting that he adds the lines in so that it isn’t so simple. I might try using the lines in my still life. I like the painting in the second video that is broken up into three panels, because there is a main focus in each panel, but the panels also make a larger scene.

  6. Before I started watching the first video, I saw the photo that it started with and was thinking, “What is this guy doing with these breaks in his painitngs?” Well, now I know! It’s a little scary to think that a painter can control what you see and how you feel about, just by using composition, color, framing, etc. But it’s especially creative of Angus to use his “intersecting lines” to challenge his viewers. (When they strated off with a closeup and moved up the picture, I found myself waiting to see the line.)

    I was really drawn to the attention he paid to layering the colors, it created such a depth in his pictures and really gave them some life beyond the whiteness of the paper. My favorite painting, by far, was the one with the yellow tablecloth patterned with blue flowers (somwhere in the middle of the second vid). It was so playful, and I really liked how he signed his name with red paint right in the corner, not hidden.

  7. In the interview with Angus Wilson, the thing that he said that stood out the most to me was something like “A great artist should control how the viewer feels, thinks, and where he looks.” I find this very true with the style of art that Angus Wilson does. All of the different shades of color really give the paintings a depth and make them beautiful. I think I will try to use even more color in my artwork. I like almost all of the art that Angus Wilson does, so I was able to narrow my favorites down to three: the paintings at 0:55, 0:59, and 1:29, all in the second video. I like the first one that I listed because of the contrast between the pale pink/white lilies and the dark blue background. In the second painting I mentioned, I like the types and colors of the flowers in the vase. In the 1:29 painting, I like the way that the table cloth is rumpled, and the colors of the oranges, papaya, and tulips.

  8. I like how he wants people to think about his paintings for a while. As a posed to letting a viewer of the art piece instantly understand what he was trying to do. I want to try that line break he puts in the middle of objects. Because of how it makes the shape appear to shift upwards and also how it makes the picture look as if the object is moving.

  9. I really liked how he talked about feeling the need to have a distinguished style and having his paintings be recognized w/o looking at the name in a gallery. I agreed with him when he said that a lot of paintings nowadays aren’t really thought about and that they “should engage all the senses.”

  10. His technique with the lines really makes his paintings look origional. Most still lifes don’t seem very creative since it just looks exactly like the objects, but his use of lines give it a creative and almost abstract aspect. I though it was interesting that one of his goals in his art was to have people imediately recognize who the artist was from his paintings. I might try to use his technique with lines in my still life.

  11. I really found his views on still life paintings interesting. What he said about how once you start doing them you want to do more really surprised me because i never would have thought that would be the case in still lifes. I really love the vibrant colors he uses! It’s nice to see an artist using colors that don’t look like murky water. My favorite one was the 3-piece painting at 0:20 in the second video. I really like how the three works are connected and the way they flow. I love the big floral arrangement in the far right picture. I also really like the intersecting line and what it makes me look for in the middle picture.

  12. I really like his use of color and how they contrast and are really bright. I also like how it’s realistic but not just straight forward. It’s really cool how he puts the lines in and the effect that gives. I think I’l try to use similar color and shading. I don’t have a favorite but I really like the flowers especially the 2nd one in the 2nd video and the lilies.

  13. I respected that he wanted to create a style that was his own, especially one that is recognizable to the public. I also liked how he used the lines to break up parts of the painting. The part of his art that I really admired and will use in my painting is how he mixed the colors together to get different shades (he does this abstractly). My favorite piece of his was the one that was split up into three different sections.

  14. I thought it was interesting how he used lines to divide up the paintings and give them a distorted look. It made the paintings much more interesting and less stereotypical. I also really like his use of color, and I noticed that a lot of the color choices were contrasting, which made the paintings really pop. I’ll try to use brighter colors in my work, and maybe even try the dividing line technique. My favorite painting was the one at :10 in the second video, which had whiteish flowers and fruits and such. I liked it because the flowers gave it a calm and peaceful feeling, yet in contrast, the watermelons and oranges made the painting vibrant and lively. I think it’s cool how he was able to incorporate calmness and chaos all into one piece of art.

  15. As almost everyone mentioned above, I really found the way he used lines to break up the painting interesting. Honestly, at first, I didn’t even notice them; they just seemed like they should belong there…as if they were part of the initial still-life objects. Now maybe, I’m just not very observant when it comes to visual arts, but then again people see things differently from one another. I also really liked how he talked about “control” and how that is really what keeps in painting still-lifes. I never thought of it that way, because I feel like I can’t be as creative with still-lifes because you are starring at the object. Yet, Wilson thinks differently, he basically feels that he can be even MORE creative with these subjects. (Which definitely shows up in his works, because the colors are so vibrant and the objects are not necessarily exactly as they look, but more so how they connect with each other.) Regarding what I said above, I think I will try to be a little more liberal in my still-life because I realized I spend too much time on little details, trying to get them perfect; however, it doesn’t really have to be that way and I found that Wilson is a great example of how to make it creative and fun to look at. My favorite painting of his was the one shown at 2:32 on the first video. I just really like how the colors work together and how simple everything looks. As you can probably extrapolate from my previous comments on other artists, I really enjoy simple things. It doesn’t require my brain to think too much (which actually somewhat contrasts to what Wilson discusses regarding his “line” technique).
    In general though, I enjoyed see this artist’s paintings, and I think I can really try and be a little more free with my own still-life.

  16. Something that really stood out to me in the interview was when he talked about how liberating it is to paint a still life and how the artist can really take control and be creative. I never really think of a still life as very creative, because you are simply capturing what you see. But his comment made me think about it in a new way, and now I am more enthusiastic to paint my still life.

    My favorite painting was the first one. I really like the colors he uses together and how they each stand out in a different way. I will probably try to incorporate the bright colors and contrast of his work.

  17. I thought it was really interesting how he wanted to really challenge the viewer and get people to think about his art. I think that is what makes great art, and he clearly gets that. I’d like to try his whole style, not only with the very bright colors but also the intersecting lines.
    I love the painting where there was a teeny bit of action with the cut up or peeled fruit, and all of the colors in all of them!

  18. I really like how Angus Wilson wanted the viewers of his art to be actively engaged. I agree that art is often overlooked and it’s just part of the background and I thought it was clever how he used the intersecting lines to fight against that. The way he used complimentary colors is very pleasant; I would be very pleased if I could do that in my still life with half his grace. I really like the piece with the blue and violet background, flowers, and wine bottle and then the sunflowers. The contrast the sunflowers add is really beautiful to me.

  19. Angus Wilson has a very fluffy and colorful style that is kind to the eye and are nice things to hang in your house (if your really rich). A really liked the way he used bold, strong colors that flowed well even without much blending

  20. i liked how he said he finds his voice in the paintings. it was a neat way of saying now he can express himself through art
    i will probably try the bright complementary colors
    i really liekd the paiinting at 57 because of its realism and the use of bright colors dully, if that makes anysense

  21. 1. ideas he talks about regarding still life painting that you find of interest

    I really enjoyed the fact that he found still-life painting to be a creative and liberating type of work as opposed to one which limits what you can do,

    2. techniques from his work that you will try in your still life painting in color, composition, or style

    I found the lines that he used to separate the various forms to be quite useful; although they may not be the type of thing I should use for our current project. In addition, I really enjoyed his use of distinct, strong colors in his works.

    3. describe which one you like the best and explain why.

    I’m not sure of the title of the painting, but I liked the painting that was introduced at around 0:30 of the second video best, I think because of the use of distinct colors.

  22. His artistic style is very entertaining. I like his use of color and shape to give his still lives character. I would like to try the complementary, contrasting colors. I like the way he brings his painting to life: he make’s the paintings somewhat realistic, but with enough variation that it sets them apart from other still lives. My favorite part was his lively use of color.

  23. I love his use of colors in particular his use of solid colors. His paints don’t bleed color very well to the layer bellow which gives him the ability to control his colors far more than what we can do. Also I like the very chalky look to his paintings. It gives them a lot of character that they would not have otherwise.

  24. His artistic style is very entertaining and I like how he talked about feeling the need to having his paintings be recognized. I like his use of color and I agreed with him when he said that a lot of paintings nowadays aren’t really thought about and that they “should engage all the senses

  25. I liked how he came up with a consistent style and used it throughout his paintings. The colors are really bright and vibrant. The lines he added also are an interesting twist on the painting. I will try use the technique of adding more color to my work to make it more lively, and perhaps I’ll try using the lines. I also just generally liked his advice about finding and sticking to a style and making your work distinct. My favorite painting of his was at 0:25 on the second video, because I love the use of colors and it’s pleasing to the eye.

  26. I very much enjoyed this mans paintings. I like what he said about people basically being restricted to painting one thing or style and how a good artist is made by creating his own style and tequeniques. I feel like his point was less about going into the specific details of how the paintin is made, and more just about the style…and the way he portrays HIMSELf in simple broken up paintings of unanimate objects. that is all i have to say

Leave a Reply

