Art 1 – color in advertising and color psychology for 2/27

Standard

Red in advertising

Do you find this to be true in the products you are attracted to that are red?  Is there a similar effect in paintings that are red dominant?

Green in advertising

Do you find this to be true in the products you are attracted to that are green?  Is there a similar effect in paintings where green is integral?

Look at the index bar on the left in the link below and be sure to read about Luscher’s psychological interpretation. Does it work for you?

Dr. Max Luscher’s work

26 responses »

  1. I never thought about colors this way. The last article was especially interesting, since it talked about all the different colors in advertising. I don’t find myself very interested in products associated with red, but I can understand why it is a good advertising technique: it is considered modern and it stands out. I agreed with the article about the color green. Green does give off a fresh, calming feeling if used well. As for paintings, I don’t think colors have quite the same effect. The color red in paintings can portray anger and green can portray envy.
    I thought that Luscher’s color test idea was very interesting. It would be cool to see how well it worked.

  2. Red is a very powerful color, and I can see why it is so commonly used in advertising. I don’t necessarily consciously associate the feelings of passion and anger when I see a product advertised with red, but now that I look back it definitely makes sense. I wonder if red is more commonly associated with impulse buying than other colors…

    Green, for some reason has meanings that are easier for me to grasp. The idea that green is associated with vitality and spring are immediately recognizable. And I always think of green tea as the drink synonymous with jealousy (I think I had a story book as a young child that pictured a jealous female teenager along with a teapot of green tea that was steaming).

    I think that red and green do carry the same connotations over into paintings. For example, as the article on green pointed out, Van Gogh once said, “I have attempted to express terrible human passions in reds and greens.”

  3. I have noticed that a lot of big companies advertise in red. I don’t particularly like red, and it is one of my least favorite colors. I have heard before that red is used in advertising because it is the first color that your eyes go to when you are looking around. I went and looked in my fridge (because they said how a lot of stuff in fridges is red) and the only red food/packaging was one jar of salsa. The green article seemed more likely to me. It is often associated with natural and refreshing things, whether or not they are actually good for you. Green is a much more appealing color and to me it seems to have more energy than red does. Colors don’t have quite the same effect in paintings as they do in advertising. Even if it is the dominant color is a piece of art, red seems more balanced than it does when it is used to try and sell a product. It seems like green is used a lot in art, and portrays all sorts of emotions. As for Luscher’s color in advertising, I understand colors and emotions to some extent, but people take it so seriously that it seems like a type of horoscope almost, like if your favorite color is blue, then you are serene. I think that people may take things a little too far and try to see connections that are just not there.

  4. I know that red is a very bold and powerful color, but I don’t think I realized how commonly used it is in advertising. I think it makes sense because of the dominance of the color and the way it catches your eye. Paintings with red also show dominance, power, and other strong emotions such as love, hate, and anger.

    Green has sort of the opposite effect – it gives off a calm, fresh, relaxed aura. So it would be a good fit for products that are supposed to be soothing, like the scented air fresheners as shown in the article. Also, mints and gum are often packaged in green, symbolizing cleanliness and freshness.

    I didn’t really agree with Luscher’s interpretations. I think it’s reading way too much out of a color and how people would react to it. I agree with some of the connections, but I agree with Milena that it’s almost horoscope-like.

  5. I agree that red is very dominant, but my eyes don’t really like it. If lettering is in red, I can’t read it, so that does not make for a very productive advertisement. However, I really like green, so I notice it a lot and I can read it. I don’t find that it is an ignored color at all. I have synesthesia, so it was kind of interesting to read a little more about it. I like to know what by brain is doing sometimes. I think the color psychology also pertains to me. I strive for little happiness and mt favorite color is green and they seem to match up here.

  6. I think it’s interesting that the articles pointed out the emotional connections with color that people have. Living in a consumer world, we see so many ads every day. Colors definitely convey emotion– like for valentine’s day, we see a lot of red. When I think about green I think about fresh or hopeful things (the article said it had to do with the environment) and that influences my decisions as a consumer.
    I agree with Jacki about red–my eyes don’t do well with it, especially red writing. It makes me irritated and is hard for me to read.

  7. Red colors do seem to pop out. With paintings, it depends on the purity of the red.

    Green does seem very natural and unforced. It is also the same in most paintings.

  8. I dont really like red or green, but I can see why they are used in advertising so often, because they do catch your eye. However, I almost think they are a bit overused. I personally like blues and blacks in advertising. I would be much more likely to notice something electric blue or black than yet another green or red package. However, these colors have less associations with emotions than green and red do, so maybe they wouldn’t work as well in advertising.

    I actually took a Luscher color quiz online a long time ago and was surprised at how accurate it was. I just took it again and it was still pretty accurate. I’m usually skeptical about personality quizzes, so that was surprising!

  9. I agree that red has many emotions that go with it like love and anger, but I don’t really like red for advertising. Red will definitely catch you eye, but it would not make me any more likely to buy the product.

    I do agree with what the article said about green. It seems like a happy and natural color that would help with advertising. Although I do like green, I like blue much more and would be much more likely to buy something blue.

  10. I guess you could say that I’m attracted to red products, but only because they tend to catch my eye. The color doesn’t really influence me to buy a red product over a yellow one. Using red as an advertising technique is a good idea, but for most people, all it really does is catch their eye for a second, and then the person moves on and buys whatever they consider the best or cheapest product. I think that green also attracts me, mainly because it’s bright and I associate it with freshness and cleanliness, which is probably why it’s marketed with shampoo and minty gum. I agree with Dr. Max Luscher’s ideas concerning color, and I think that while people try to resist being influenced by color in advertising, they still associate certain colors with certain ideas. For example, I think most people associate the color pink with women, and sure enough, the color associated with the breast cancer fund is pink! Though color isn’t the only factor influencing advertising, it still plays a major role in it.

  11. I agree that red is a very eye-catching color and is related with love and hate. I think it’s also associated with power, such as red cars seeming more powerful. Green is a color with many different meanings. The most significant ones are environmental, health and money. Also, i find that green happens to be a very refreshing color, for example, most shampoos and conditioners that are intended to rejuvenate the hair have green packaging. In a sense green and red have opposite connotations which is interesting considering that they are also opposite on the color wheel.

  12. I think these articles, especially the last one, were really interesting; I have never thought about the color choices in advertisements, but I do agree with the meaning of the colors in the article. I know I’m more attracted to shampoos and conditioners in bright colors like pink, green, orange, and blue. Also, the flowers and fruits on the bottles helps the sense of freshness. Green is the most popular color though for shampoos, but green is popular in commercials for anything that’s supposed to be healthy. I think red is a sexy color and I notice it in advertisements for beauty products such as lipstick, but also in car advertisements because people are attracted to red cars. I agree that blue is a relaxing color because I associate it with the ocean and clear skies. I am not very attracted to yellow usually unless it’s a yellow sun or flower or something.

  13. I would say that the general ideas that the artical talks about are true. They do seem a little exaggerated to me but it is true in a lot of the advertisements. I think that it could one of the subconscious things but i don’t really notice it.

  14. Seems strange that we could spend so much time looking at those products and not realize they all had the same color. While red catches the eye really well most of the products had yellow,whit or black in the ad to, probably to not completely be blinding. I think the colors are only useful a the first time an object is bought, after that the it will simply be familiar to the buyer and not matter what color the object is.

  15. Red: It’s interesting to read about this because when my dad was opening his dental office we spend a lot of time thinking about what color we wanted his outdoor light up sign to be and although I pushed for the color green, my entire family voted on the red. Apparently it catches a drivers eye and it’s “easier” to read. I don’t agree with that, but then again I am biased because all the red expo markers that teachers use are hardly visible, if at all. But after I read the article I understood more about the human attraction to the color red (and I found that the emotions connected to that color really affected the way people perceive the product.)

    Green: Once again, I’m pretty biased because green is my favorite color; it can be warm and it can be cool…to me, it’s quite neutral. And like the article stated: greenbacks–money is green! Also green in society is just seen a lot better. Green traffic light means go. Being green suggests an environmentally friendly person, etc…

    (It’s also interesting to note that red and green are both complements! And also the most common type of color-deficient/blind people is green-red, meaning it’s difficult for them to distinguish between those two colors.)

    In general though, I don’t think I’m the type of person to try a product because of the color of it’s logo. And yeah, I understand that isn’t exactly what the articles are saying, but in a way they are. I feel like the colors catch my eye more than anything and in that means, colors in advertising is successful, I suppose.

    At first I thought that the color test was just another one of those bogus tests, but then I read about it more and found it to be pretty accurate. As you may know, I’m a person who likes things backed up by science and these theories are clearly backed up, which I greatly respect.

  16. All of these articles were very interesting. In general, I agreed with the statements they were making, although they didn’t all mention light and dark, because those definitely have an effect. A very light green could be serene and calming, where a deep green could be luxurious and convey a very different message. What they were saying about red was very true, it stands out and just pops. When they had the blue and red squares, I could definitely see the effect where the blue faded into the background and red stood out. Green is so common everywhere, from money to ‘going green!’, so it really means so many different things, although mostly good. Where they were talking about the paintings, it was really interesting how they had the good as red and the bad as evil though.

  17. I find that the use of colors to manipulate the human brain is really cool an I think that a further study of the different effects of different colors would be highly interesting. Perhaps someday , we will find how to take over peoples minds with colors someday.

  18. Overall, I found that I agreed with both articles. I agreed more with the on eon the use of red; however, I do find that green is often used to portray an effect of calm. I do wonder if different people experience different overall effects though

  19. I definitely agree with the red advertising article, I immediately looked at the red logo’s before I saw the article itself. Most of the products I use on a daily basis are not red though. In answer to the question, “Is there a similar effect in paintings that are red dominant?” yes, I think there is. I also agree with the idea that green catches the eye, blue is the universal favorite, purple is the luxury color. But I disagree and question the fact that, “Blue is also associated with masculinity…” Overall though, I find the article REALLY interesting! Especially the part about red being the first color, babies can see.

  20. i agree with both article, i think the both color are cool color and it give the feeling love and contract. i very interested in products associated with red, paintings with red also show dominance, power, and other strong emotions such as love, anger and others.

  21. I thought it was interesting, but I have already seen similar things from other places so their wasn’t anything new to me. Also the actually implications of it are interesting.

  22. It’s really interesting to me that colors can have such a great influence over the consumer. It’s definitely apparent in pop culture. I very much agree with what the articles state.

  23. I’ve known for a while that color has subliminal effects in advertising. Orange is an appetizing color because many foods are orange, apparently. I think that red has the same effect in paintings as it does in advertising.

  24. its pretty crazy that colors can influence what you think of. i’d be curious if someone was raised without advertising and then told to advertize something if they’d use the same colors

  25. I have never really thought about the use of color in advertising. Now that i think about it i do agree with most of the associations with the colors pointed out in the articles. especially purple, red and green. One thing i didn’t get was why blue would be associated with masculinity.

    Also i see red in almost every fast food or semi-fast food logo out there. I had never really thought why… i was just used to it.

Leave a Reply

