Art 2/3 for 2/14 Crit

Standard

As you work on your next assignment, think about the role that curiosity and research play in the creative and artistic process.

Read what this blogger has to say and others’ comments at this site:

creativity a cousin of curiousity

Does curiosity play a role in your creativity?

Do you ever think “what if” as you are in the process of making art?

Share some of the answers to these questions in your blog comment and cite other sources that you might be able to find  that are of interest regarding the topics of creativity, curiosity, and/or the role of research in making art.

14 responses »

  1. Curiosity is important because it adds to passion. Without passion or an inspiration, I think art doesn’t have much of a point. Even if it’s a painting of a glass bottle, I think there should be something interesting or odd about what you are painting to make it worthwhile. I think it’s really important to ask why something works the way it does when you are working on it, like why shadow in just the right spot changes something so drastically, or why a color gives an image a certain mood. Obviously you need curiosity to gain inspiration from the outside world as well. Wondering why a flower blooms a certain way or how an engine works can create an idea for a piece.

    I like to think what if with watercolor, it’s fun because painting has to be changed/erased in a very specific way–you can’t just use an eraser. I like to wonder what would happen if I dropped a droplet water on this part of the rock or let the wet paint spread on the paper. Sometimes random what ifs can make a painting special.

    I think art and inspiration is linked with journalism. In journalism we are always trying to find inspiration for new articles and new ways of looking at things. I try and look at one part of a room and think about everything in it, even if it’s just wood or a photo or a person. Sometimes ideas can strike just from looking around us and being aware.
    I think researching things for school can bring ideas for art. For example I got inspired to work on anatomical art from Human Biology, and I practice drawing anatomy using this site often as a source:
    http://www.nlm.nih.gov/exhibition/dreamanatomy/index.html
    I also just love scientific illustration, and this blog has lots to offer: http://scientificillustration.tumblr.com/
    I think much of our inspiration comes to life around us, even if it comes out abstractly.

    • You have excellent and thoughtful insights into the creative process….both the emotional and intellectual aspects. I like the way you connect it to the results in the finished product too. The art can engage the viewer and make then curious or wonder as well. And, the “what if” attitude really does apply to watercolor especially well. Those are great websites you referred us to. Avi – the second fish image reminds me of the one you started today!

  2. For me, curiosity will challenge the authority and the traditional way that people usually take. I never think about the questions such as why the sky is blue, or why there is one white line on the high way, i just accept how they are. However, i did question about the connection between two things, like which come first, chicken or eggs, or how such history event lead to another history event. History had been past and unchangeable, but people can see and manipulate things in very different way, just like the math problem has not only one solution. Curiosity definitely invents creativity. It’s always not easy to question one’s art work style, for example, my art work was always very detailed and the colors were well matched. Art 2 seemed to push me to try different style; abstract painting is extremely difficult for me. I feeled very empty and uncertain when i did my project. Nathan Oliveriva onse said, uncertainty is painful but wonder experience. If you follow the tune, the art work will develop in and about itself magically. I don’t know, I suppose it might be true. We’ll see…

  3. Curiosity is important to me because of the effect it has on my general awareness. When someone has curiosity, they are curious about new experiences. When I’m inspired by curiosity, I go and experience things I wouldn’t have usually. Even if it gets me into trouble sometimes. I explore the cliffs at my local beach when I’m curious. I spend time with new people, do new things. This helps my art. It gives me new ideas for my art and I try new styles and techniques when I’m feeling adventurous, so I’d say curiosity has a direct connection to our art.

  4. Sometimes when I look at a painting, I think about the “history” in terms of how it was made. The process of creation and expression is interesting to consider. It’s a balance between intention, invention, and “what if”…..or the “happy accident”, right Ry? And, Siying, the direction your painting took today is very exciting. Your use of color is quite expressive. I think you are following the magical path Oliveira was talking about!

  5. curiosity leads to originality. You try new things, wonder radical thoughts, and sometimes, go where no man has gone before.
    Being curious and snooping around places and people can lead to amazing discoveries. It could be a free-mason symbol in the corner of a street mural you pass frequently, or it could be finding a club fort built in the forest. I find it’s the little finds like that that help get my creative juices flowing.

  6. To have a childlike curiosity is a very good thing. if your curious, like a small child, you would probably try anything out, in life and as well as artwork without the limitations or fears one might have if they were older. i know that i’m not very curious, but i do think a lot about some of the questions, but i think about different things. such as conversations, languages, different countries and songs. i find that my curiosity reaches its peak when i’m learning about different countries and their cultures. ever since i was little i’ve had this fascination with Japanese decor, foods and clothing. at some point i’m going to learn all the recipes in my book.When i am also in a new place i go on my own adventure out of curiosity to see all the things that live around me,like at a beach or a recently moved in house. i guess i take it back, i’m curious, just not in the asking many questions way. i go explorin, that’s my curiosity and it fuels my creativity in terms of that i can plot out designs of new places or imagine a story in my head from that random place. i don’t have any links of interest, sorry.

  7. Curiosity most definitely plays a role in creativity and I think in inspiration as well. To be creative, you have to try new things and experiment, building, I think, off of stuff you already know but adding on to that. You can’t be solely dependent on stuff you already know and have already done so I think you have to be curious in order to keep creating new things. I kind of have a feeling that curiosity isn’t always a conscious thing either, for instance, when I’m drawing I’m not saying to myself, “This is quite curious, I wonder what would happen if I tilted my pencil like so.” It just happens.
    For the, “what if…” I think it’s the same with the unconscious curiosity; we do it without thinking.

  8. Curiosity most definitely plays a role in creativity. It is one of the main components of creativity to me. Curiosity, as Ry mentioned, helps you to think originally. When you are thinking originally, you are able to brainstorm new ideas that you may not have imagined before hand. Sometimes when I am creating my art I do use some curiosity. Without knowing it, I usually wonder about everything I do. A lot of my art has to do with my curiosity of life and how it works. I try to depict it in different ways. We all are unconsciously being curious about what is happening. This really does help us to be creative, for it is where all our ideas come from. I admit I am not as curious as I was as a kid, but that doesn’t mean my mind doesn’t wander to random places from time to time!

  9. This also reminds me of the last assignment we did, about how that artist stuck in his old style and can’t think of anything new and can’t form new ideas. Curiosity does help a lot with creativity. Because we can always explore more than we need to, we are curious.
    I always try to imagine if I use a different technique, how would the work change, but my ideas are usually too narrow.

  10. Curiosity can definitely be helpful for me with my paintings. It allows you to try new and different things that interest you; that you haven’t really tried before but are curious about. You can really try anything when your curious, because there are so many things to be curious about. It can allow you to enter a whole other realm of creativity that you haven’t explored before. I often do ask “what if” when working on a project, but sometimes I’m too afraid to try some of the “what ifs” I ask myself. If i’m not though, I usually try it and many times it has ended up making my piece better than I thought it would be. So, yeah, curiosity definitely helps when working on artwork.

  11. Curiosity is definitely important because it is what makes you actually create a piece of art. If you are curious in your subject matter then why even bother with the art. Art it meant to be enjoyed not forced on someone, and curiosity is what makes you want to go ahead and create a piece about that subject.

  12. Curiosity is pivotal to the creation of art, both in the idea behind a piece and in the actual development of a piece.

    When I begin a drawing or a painting, the first thing I do is come up with a basic topic, and then I wonder, “What would that look like?” I’m curious about my idea, how to show it and what it truly is, so I draw it and see how it turns out. Only then I can fully understand it.

    In the actual construction of a piece, curiosity drives me to explore new options. “How would it look if I put an extra line here? What if I painted her hair blue?” I’m curious, so I try it. And the painting ends up looking much more original.

Leave a Reply

