All Art and Photo students: perceived images

Standard

In thinking about how we see, how we process what we see, and how we re-present it as art…..look at this amazing news from last week:

brain-scan-movie-scenes_n_976580.html

What do you think the implications of this will be in your lifetime?

For a little bit of perspective, look at these images of the earliest photograph that Niepce presented to the scientific community in 1826 and see the similarities of vague forms with the computer translations of the brain scans…..it wasn’t very long until the technology advanced to give clear detail when Dauguerre presented the Dauguerreotype in 1839.

wfp

How long do you think it will be until the computers can read a clear picture of what the eye transmits to the brain?

Will it show that we see the same or differently….or just think about it differently based on the minds other filters?

There’s lots to ponder in the arts…..leave your responses…..

11 responses »

  1. With the technological advances that we are making, it will probably be by my adult life. I think that certain people will let it affect them more than others will but it will certainly influence cultural perception. I don’t think that the perception of art will change however as it is completely personal taste and creativity.
    -Max

  2. I thought it was really interesting, especially when considering the possible implications. I think we probably perceive things the same and then interpret them differently, but if this technology continues to advance, soon we’ll know for sure.

  3. Personally, I think that, despite the fact that this technology of practically reading minds is incredible, I wouldn’t want people poking around my head. This advancement could either turn out really really good or disastrous; I think that it could fall too easily into the wrong hands and be used for the wrong reasons, and that out-ways the good. That said, I still think that the technology and science of it is astounding; this machine that can trace and match images from a person’s mind onto a computer so we can see it. It could show the comparisons between different interpretations, opinions, feelings, which honestly I find a little hard to comprehend…

  4. I think it is amazing that you can actually reconstruct the images that people are seeing from brain scans. I is scary thinking about this technology if they ever developed a hand held scanner. Although I am sure it will be usefull for understand mental illnesses.

  5. It is hard to know when and if computers will be able to transmit accurate images of what the brain is “seeing.” Since our brains are not carbon copies I would assume that these brain images would display some variance between individuals. Because this study focused on how the brain processed real time images I don’t know how applicable it is to how we recall and relate information outside a controlled environment. Neuroscience is still so in its infancy it exciting to think about the possibilities.

  6. I think that at a first look it is just plan cool; but I am sure that this technology, when it gets developed, would certainly be controversial. It shouldn’t be to a problem that people will be able to see in your brain without you looking just because that level of technology will take a ridiculously long time to develop.

  7. That is incredible, to think that our a machine can take information from our brain and show it with such accuracy is scary, but at the same time amazing. This technology will certainly have an effect on crime solving, and as it gets developed, may redefine how we understand memory.

  8. A lot of people have discussed the outcome of this technology in a more, well, authoritarian light, but I’d like to suggest that this technology could just as easily be used for the arts as is could for governmental oppression. Wouldn’t it be interesting to develop a new style of art that the artist controlled only with their mind? If this art form developed there would be no physical technique, only pure creativity. I know that would be good for me! Truly I have very little interest in becoming an artist, though I have great respect for the arts, but I do like to think that I’m capable of great creativity. So, if there was an art that asked me only to think beautiful thoughts or create a collage of memories, I would take that class.

  9. I think this whole thing is really disturbing and could have some really terrible consequences if we aren’t careful. I mean, it is definitely interesting and amazing, it’s just too powerful a technology to be used on a regular basis. I also seriously doubt that this technology would develop fully in our lifetimes.

  10. I believe that this advancement in technology is astounding. The fact that we can retrieve this data via computer directly from an fMRI is simply amazing, so amazing that it’s almost hard to believe. It’s possible that this discovery will open doors to other discoveries in science, medicine, and perhaps a new medium of presenting art in the near future; perhaps we will be retrieving visual images from dreams and hallucinations by the end of my lifetime. Regardless, I’m positive that this advancement will lead to controversy as it evolves and becomes more precise in the representation of people’s minds. Even if we can see what others are seeing on a computer screen, does that mean it makes us feel or react the same way? The same could be said about photography, or art in general. I wonder if these advancements will be as thought-provoking as paintings, photographs, and sculptures. Maybe this is the new “realism” of the art world.

  11. It is amazing that technology can do such a thing. Really, its quite curious how the brain processes all of this information. We are a very visual species, and its interesting to see how the brain actually precives images after its been seen. Very curious…

Leave a Reply

